All formats before the release of 2003’s Ruby & Sapphire are considered part of the Wizards of the Coast era, when Wizards produced the Pokémon TCG. All of them use the same following rules:


  • The coin flip is performed after choosing your Active and Benched Pokémon. The winner must play first.
  • No restrictions are placed on the player playing first; players draw a card to start their turn, may play as many Trainers as they like, and end their turn by attacking.
  • A mulligan rewards two extra cards to the opponent, not just one. Players must decide to draw 0, 1, or 2 cards immediately following each mulligan.


  • Confused Pokémon that fail to attack do 20 damage to themselves. This damage applies Weakness and Resistance.
  • Confused Pokémon must attempt to retreat, first by paying the retreat cost, and then flipping a coin. Heads permits that Pokémon to retreat, but Tails leaves the Confused Pokémon active, and it may not try to retreat again until next turn.
  • Confused Pokémon must discard any Energy required for an attack before flipping for Confusion. (Note: In any Neo format, the discard only occurs after a successful attack.)


  • Players may retreat as many times per turn as they like.


  • There is no limit to how many Stadium cards may be played in one turn.
  • Stadium cards with the same name may be played to replace another.